bagmaking · sewing · spoonflower · tutorial · zippers

Zipped, part 2

Today I’m going to show you how I use my shortened zipper to make a small bag.  For this tutorial, I’m using a small bag pattern I’ve drafted myself that I often use to sew little treat bags for my little nieces and nephews.  You can use this method with whatever bag/pouch/clutch pattern you want.

First, cut and interface your pieces as directed.  I actually fuse my interfaceings onto my fabric before I cut out my pattern pieces.  Follow your directions up to the point where you’ll insert the zipper.

zzipper7

Sandwich it as usual between your front and lining pieces, centering it so that there is a seam allowance’s width between the end of the zipper and the fabric.  In this case, it’s 1/4 inch.

zzipper4

Sew the zipper in place, I use a 1/4 inch quilting foot instead of a zipper foot.  I also backstich a little over the beginning and end ‘bumps’ of the zipper.

zzipper8

There we go.  You should have something that looks like this.  Topstitch as directed, however!  Do NOT stitch the front to the back (through all the layers).  If you want the stitching on the front of the bag, move the bottom layer out of the way.  Same for the back, move the front out of the way.

Now, sew the side seams up.  When you get to the zipper, sort of tuck it up and out of the way and sew past it.  You should NOT catch the zipper in your sewing.  When you’re done, it should look like this!  Neat, finished, and flat!

 

Leave a Reply

