review · sewing · spoonflower · sprout patterns

Santa Fe

 

santa_fe_top_project_280637_sprout_patterns_-_2017-01-26_12-42-51

I love this top.  I love the style, I loved sewing it.  I love the fabrics.  I love wearing it and put it on this morning just after I finished the hem.

This is the Santa Fe pattern by Hey June Handmade from Sprout.

The Santa Fe Top is a loose, flowy tank or dolman sleeve top perfect for dressing up or down. Views A – C feature the flowy tops with knit bindings and cuffs on the short sleeves. Views D – F feature side insets.

Choose from narrow tank top straps, a sleeveless top, or a dolman style short sleeve with a cuff. The Santa Fe is perfect for layering under a sweater for a dressy spring outfit, using as a shell top under a suit, or pairing with cut offs for a summer concert!

santefe8.png

Mine is not super flowy because I’ve made it out of my favourite cotton spandex, but the fit and wear of it is still wonderful.  The neck and shoulders fit against the body so it’s slim under a cardigan.  The flair on this lays really nicely and is actually longer in the back but not drastically.

It was really easy to sew, although I only realized after I made it that I didn’t actually read the instructions.  I added the binding to the neck like I did the Rumi Tank, but the instructions called for a different method.  I like this one better, tbh.  Because I can actually do it well.

I also finished the hem the same way as on the Rumi.  Very professional, it was totally worth mastering that double needle!

santafe3

You can purchase your own Don’t be Koi! Sprout project here!

Leave a Reply

