review · sewing · sprout patterns

Rumi

The first Sprout Pattern project I decided to tackle was the Rumi Tank.

The Rumi Tank pattern was designed by Christine Haynes.

The Rumi Tank is a feminine and sporty racerback knit tank top that will become a staple in your wardrobe. The tank top has a deep scoop neck front and a narrow racerback, all bound with thin binding. It is a quick pattern for experienced sewers, as well as those new to sewing with knits.

The Rumi Tank is fitted in the upper body, following your figure with a nipped in waist and slight flare at the hip. This is the perfect tank for your runs to the gym or to the grocery store!

I had mine printed in a design from Micklyn in my favorite Spoonflower knit, cotton spandex jersey, in a size WAY too big because I ordered my usual UK/EU size which is about 3 or 4 sizes too big in US sizes. Here is a nifty little size guide to help explain what I mean.

You can see how the finished garment is exactly like I arranged the design on the model when I ordered it.

rumi8

I think it came out amazingly! I was worried about the bindings, I cut them and pressed them and then pinned them as carefully as possible before serging them together. I then pressed the binding again and the fabric curved and relaxed perfectly around the edges. Then I top stitched the allowances down.

I’m learning that if I am just patient and go slow, using a serger is a piece of cake. For the hem, I ironed up the seam allowance, used a glue stick to keep it in place, and then used a double needle to hem. The result is smooth and very professional!

rumi5

rumi9

 

Fit wise, eh. It’s nice, but the flair on the bottom is really bell like, I think that even if I had made it in a better size for me, it would still be out of proportion. I’ve read a few sewing blogs on how to correct fit issues to correct it in the future.

I’ve printed out the pattern (when you order fro Sprout you get a full copy of the pattern and instructions to download) and I’m hoping to make a couple more, soon! I think they’ll be great not just for yoga, but for under a cardigan!

One thought on “Rumi

Leave a Reply

