sewing · spoonflower

Piqued My Interest

One of the fabrics I’ve ordered a bit of from Spoonflower is the Performance Pique.

Performance Piqué: $20/yard ($18 with designer discount)

100% polyester piqué knit fabric with a moisture-wicking, soil release finish

Details

Uses

  • Appropriate for yoga tops, polo shirts, sporty dresses and skirts, headbands, scarves and more

Care Instructions

Wash separately in cool or warm water using a gentle machine cycle and phosphate-free detergent. Machine dry using a low temperature setting. If required, use an iron with a light touch on a synthetic setting only. Higher temperatures may result in color transfer and melting of fabric.

I do have to admit, I don’t really like wearing polyester.  I really love cottons, especially cotton with a touch of spandex.  But, the appeal to trying this was the ‘performance’ aspect, that is, the moisture wicking and stain resistance.  I do a lot of yoga and walk several miles every evening, so this seemed like the ideal fabric to use to make my own yoga tops, etc.  So I thought what the heck, and ordered a bunch of prints.

I’m so happy I did!  Unlike the Performance Knit, which you can read about here, the Pique has a much nicer hand, it’s much thicker and much less flimsy.  It’s got a bit more stretch and body, so sewing with it has been much easier.

I went a little crazy with the prints.  I love that I have the option to explore my personality.  While I do get mostly 1 yard pieces, I do have a few FQs in the mix, just for little projects for Mia.  I really think this fabric will make nice sports bras for her.

15802177_1769542283372324_3742887127415783424_n1

I’ve discovered that my scissors aren’t exactly sharp enough to cut the Pique crisply (they’re often used for craft and doll projects) but it cut like a dream with my rotary cutter on my mat.

I prewashed a couple cuts and it held up nicely.  I lay it flat to dry, I rarely ever actually use a heat drier to dry things, though.  The prints remained vivid and there was no pilling.

I’ll report back soon when I finish up my first Pique project!

Leave a Reply

